Another life

Lately I’ve been watching documentaries on YouTube about all different countries (I want to watch at least one documentary for every country in the world, it’s achievable!!).

What has stood out for me, it’s other countries resourcefulness. Okay I’ve mostly seen African and Asian countries as they’re mostly unknown to me. They don’t waste anything! People work on the dumps and recycle anything they find useful. There are obvious health risks, but I bet you anything, people desperate for money here in Ireland, would never dream of working in a dump looking for recyclables.
If a cow was slaughtered, everything from the cow is used except for the hair. Nothing is wasted. There is just so much waste in the western world, it makes me sick.

I lived in Kenya for three months after college. I loved it. It was the simple life; limited technology, a proper community and everyone was happy with what they had. We would have power cuts daily. But we didn’t mind, we’d light some candles and just hang out and chat or play cards. I had a power cut at home a few months ago and had withdrawals from the Internet! Pathetic!
I was so happy when I was in Kenya. It changed me as a person, into a better person. The problem is that I went back into this wasteful society and I lost the appreciation for the simple life. People living in mud huts with their family and making small amounts of money, were the happiest people I’ve met. All they wanted was to enjoy life and become more educated.

The stars filled the sky every night – there were thousands more than I’d ever seen at home. A full moon would act as street lights (there were no street lights). I eventually learned how to walk through the village in pitch dark, it became my home.

It drives me insane when I hear my friends complaining about everything, about the weather, not having a house of their own, not earning enough. I’ve learned that no matter how much money someone makes, it’s never enough for them. Someone is always going to be making more money than you, and you’re not going to be happy about it!!! I shut my mouth when I have to listen to that shit!

We are all so greedy people. I know I am. I don’t need many things in life, no one does, but we want everything if someone else has it. I’ve always wanted to live the simple life, I just don’t know if it’s possible here. And Kenya is not the ideal place for a single lesbian, is it! I just wish the western world appreciate what they have, we have never been so lucky.

5 thoughts on “Another life

      • I’m glad other people in the world are into studying biology and such, because I know I would never make it through all of the science! šŸ™‚
        Your argument is interesting though. I’ve never been out of the U.S. I have to admit that living the simple life would definitely take some getting used on my part, because I’ve grown up in the age of the internet and this giant technological boom and I’ve become accustomed to this certain lifestyle. It would certainly be a total culture shock to go from one end of the spectrum to the other. However, I do believe over time that it would be possible for me to live that way, but with all of the modernization all over the world society would see it as a negative thing. And that’s one of the negative effects of post modernism. People say why would I live like that when I could have so much more and be “happy”.

      • You would get used to it! I think people are happier without constant social media. I deleted my fb last year and I feel much better for it! I like reading the news and random articles on the internet but I hate celeb gossip and the likes. So I could give up social media but maybe not google – that gives me too many answers!

        Where’s the first place you wanna go outside of the US?

      • Google is my everything. šŸ™‚
        Oh my, where is the first place I want to go outside of the U.S.? I would say Italy. I guess mainly because of the historical presence. I’ve always wanted to go there for as long as I can remember. But I’ve always just wanted to go to Europe in general so I’d be open to any country over there. Just start in one city and go all over. Also, Australia.

What are your thoughts?

