Feeling

Feeling is a solitary emotion. No one can ever feel what you feel. Empathy can only go so far. You can act one way with people but no one will ever know your inner-most thoughts. No one will ever understand your exact feelings.

Christmas time always has me feeling low. I don’t know why but I extract myself from my friends for solace, like I’ll find my purpose in life by time alone. My heart feels heavy, like it has sunk down my torso. My head gets fuzzy, too many thoughts race around. And anxiety onsets when night breaks. It feels my body is taken over but in reality, I’m just lying there motionless. But my eyes show my pain.

The eyes are the entry into our souls, only showing our true emotions to people we accept.Ā 

How many people truly touch your life? How many people really understand you? I feel misunderstood.Ā 

Ā 

3 thoughts on “Feeling

  1. I guess it’s the ultimate existential truth – we are all isolated within our own minds. I know what you mean, when you say you often feel misunderstood. However, sometimes people surprise you. Not strangers – well, rarely šŸ™‚ I’m lucky to have a really fantastic therapist. He often has more insight into me than I’d expect. Still, I guess that’s his vocation, so I shouldn’t be surprised. My husband can be *so* *thick* sometimes, but at other times can floor me with an understanding that seems to come from nowhere. And, at the moment, I’d say of all my friends there are only two who can do that same thing – show an unexpected understanding.
    Thank you for your posts. I find them thought-provoking and well-written. Please keep writing!

    • Wow, thank you for your comment! I don’t have a therapist, maybe I should get one! I always imagine having one but I just keep thinking of questions I want to ask him/her rather than spewing my feelings!!

      • Perhaps a counsellor would be more your thing, then – but I’m just playing with words šŸ™‚ There’s a whole range of ways therapists/counsellors operate. The bloke I see comes from the psychodynamic school and doesn’t say much at all. In the past, in a different city, I saw someone who gave a lot of advice. It’s just a matter of finding the right fit and the right person.
        Personally, I reckon everyone (well or not) should be in therapy! It’s really enhanced my life. “The unexamined life is not worth living” as Socrates said šŸ™‚
        Anyway, that’s my two cents worth! Have a great day.

What are your thoughts?

