When I woke up on Monday morning, I felt it was the beginning of something new; The start of my new life! I can’t explain my reasoning behind this; It was like something clicked and I wanted to let go of everything from the past two years and this was my chance. When I think of how much I’ve changed since I got depressed, I mostly think of how much stronger I am now. I wasn’t stronger all the time, but at present I feel strong and sharper.

With this feeling of optimism and new beginnings, I hit the gym! First time in two years I had a proper workout. I know everyone has been telling me exercise helps with depression, but I just couldn’t face it. I finally felt driven to do something and this was perfect for the cause.

There were some things at the gym which I couldn’t help notice though.

A percentage of women at the gym are afraid to sweat. They don’t push themselves during their workouts and have a lovely full face of makeup with nice matching gym gear from their top to the shoes. It’s absolutely absurd to me! The only reason I can think of why they would do this is to always look nice for their male counterparts. Why pay the money to join a gym and then walk and hold on to the treadmill for 20 minutes? You go girls! I refuse to believe a lesbian would do this. I prefer seeing the women wrecked and pushing themselves, who cares if you have face as red as Rudolph’s nose?

Men of the gym, please tell me why you wear tight Hawaiian shorts? We’re not on a beach here and shorts should never be that tight (says the lesbian). And hey, men– why do some of you not wear proper trainers when you work out? Did I not get the memo about looking trendy when pumping iron? Vans are just not comfortable to work out in, I know this, why don’t you too?

I did wonder, do people have gym crushes? I think it’s only a matter of time before I will have one. I actually kind of want one, little thing to look forward to everyday! Do people find dates at the gym? It must be awkward if it all goes wrong and then your place of solace is no longer.

Anyway, that was my experience. I intend to keep going until I become gym obsessed and ripped! And maybe this will lift me a bit in the meantime.

‘You save yourself, or you remain unsaved’.

What are your thoughts?

